How to make external hard drive last longer

I own a Seagate Free Agent external hard drive. So in this article, I’m going to share to you the methods that I am using in order to make my External Hard Drive  or Portable Hard Drive last longer.

 

  1. Do not store much files on the hard drive –  Be it music, videos, documents, applications and games. The more files you store on your drive. The more effort it will take for the heads to access information from the hard drive platter. And it means more heat is produced during the process. And we know that heat is a mortal enemy for most computer hardware.
  2. Defragment hard drive – It is always a nice practice to defragment your hard drive once in a while. Maybe once a month if you are like me who downloads lots of files from the internet regularly. But if you don’t really store that much files in your hard drive, and does not use it frequently. Then twice in one year might do.
  3. Add more RAM to your system– This is not always necessary since most of the computers sold in the market today has already 2Gb of RAM which is already enough for most of our daily task. But to make things more smoother for the part of the hard drive, you might as well add more RAM on your system.
  4. Do not play media which is stored in your external hard drive – this is what I always do. I always make it a point to never use the hard drive in playing music, video or any other application. Copy the media file first on your internal hard drive then play it from there.
  5. Do not manipulate files stored in your external hard drive– It is similar to number 4 but I think it deserves its own number. When I say manipulate files I mean that modifying files or working with files that are stored on your drive. Examples are video conversion from one format to another or working with photoshop files stored in your drive. Or working with vb.net programs. Copy it first to your internal hard drive then work with it.
  6. Store it on a cool place– this is self explanatory since most computer hardware loves it when the environment is cold.
  7. Safely remove hard drive– always make it a point that you safely remove your drive before plugging off the cable. There’s a tool called USB Disk Ejector, which I use for ejecting external storage quickly. You can download it from their site:

http://quick.mixnmojo.com/usb-disk-ejector

image

 

Conclusion

That’s it for this guide, I hope you learned something. And if you find this guide useful then you might want to share it on your site. Thanks for readingSmile

3 thoughts on “How to make external hard drive last longer

  1. not playing your music thru external hard drive?? I bought my seagate desk external hard drive for that reason to free up my internal hard drive for too much file of music, and i play my music thru my external… so what’s the purpose of your external hard drive then? display?

    • The things that I’ve included in here are just my own observations. I’m not saying that you actually have to follow it because I’m not a computer hardware expert. You can actually go to a site like superuser.com to see what are their comments on this. External hard drives like any other computer hardware hates heat and heat is produced by using them but they also deterriorate if you don’t use them so using it moderately might be a good idea.

Leave a Reply

